2018 Youth Art Contests – Winners

What Iowa Architecture Inspires YOU?

The Iowa Architectural Foundation’s mission is to inspire appreciation for architecture and design in everyone. We encourage students and citizens of all ages to learn more about the architecture they see every day.

More than 200 students around Iowa  participated in the 2018 youth architecture contests, sponsored by Holmes Murphy. Selected drawings and photos will be exhibited at the Iowa Center For Architecture throughout April.

Holmes Murphy




7-9 Winner

Statewide 7th-9th Winner: Ellanor Morrissey, Cedar Rapids


10-12 Winner

Statewide 10-12th Winner: Logan Devore, Davenport

Honorable Mentions


Victoria Gomez

Honorable Mention 7th-9th: Victoria Gomez, Cedar Rapids



Honorable Mention 7th-9th: Alma Cosgrove, Cedar Rapids


Taylor Eaton

Honorable Mention 10-12th: Taylor Eaton, Sidney


Statewide Winners


Emily Kutbartz

Statewide Winner K-3rd: Emily Kulbartz, Blairstown


Brooklyn Hall

Statewide Winner 4th-6th: Brooklyn Hall, Davenport

Regional Winners


Lucy Schmidt

Central Region Winner K-3rd: Lucy Schmidt, West Des Moines


Sophia McColley

Central Region Winner 4th-6th: Sophia McColley, Ankeny


Alaina Goettson

Northwest Region Winner 4th-6th: Alaina Goettson, Washta


Brock Corrigan

Northeast Region Winner K-3rd: Brock Corrigan,  Atkins


Christopher Gomez

Northeast Region Winner 4th-6th: Christopher T. Gomez, Dubuque



Southeast Region Winner K-3rd: Udeme Ituk, Coralville


Kaylee Trice Kay

Southeast Region Winner 4th-6th: Kaylee Trice Kay, Davenport


Jaelyn Johnson

Southwest Region Winner K-3rd: Jaelyn Johnson,  Avoca


Luke Parrott

Southwest Region Winner 4th-6th: Luke Parrott, Treynor


Honorable Mentions


Ava Perez

Southeast Region Honorable Mention 4th-6th: Ava Perez, Davenport


Eve Scott

Southwest Region Honorable Mention 4th-6th: Evelyn Scott, Avoca